From Antwerp With Love

I would like to take a moment to thank My Personal Francophone for two wonderful years together, and, in honor of the Belgian chocolate heart he gave me yesterday, which I can no longer share with you in photos because a decent portion of it is in my stomach, I am sharing this photo instead.

This heart was in front of the Central Station in Antwerp, at the end of the huge commercial street (Urban Outfitters next to The World’s Smallest Waffle Shop, which is indeed tiny—why not?).

I’m not sure where it came from, or why it says You May Not Camp You May Not Wine You May Not Ice Cream You May Not Hold Up Your Hand. I’m not even sure where it went–I never found it after that one afternoon in September. But I can picture it, shuffling its sad,  restrictive self down other highways and byways of the city, and I will always remember Antwerp’s large, red, picturesque love note. Dank je wel!

Image

Leave a comment

Filed under Belgium 2012-2013

Leave a Reply

