Career Planning Day

Yesterday there were no classes for senior assessment, so, given that my life has taken several unexpected turns since September and I have less clue what to do with it than I would with raw meat if someone told me to cook steak, I made an appointment with our university’s Career and Academic Planning Center.

“Help,” I said. “I don’t know what to do when I graduate.”

I got a few things out of this session:

1. Take the GRE. Now. If you retake it, it’s not like the SAT–it’s an average of the two. This is slightly more information than I got when I took the practice GRE last Saturday and the representative from Kaplan told us all that unless we took their practice course we would die in a horrible conflagration caused by the piles of rejected grad school applications which the admissions officers would gleefully burn while dancing around them stark naked, and our applications Would be in That Pile.

2. Apply for both jobs AND graduate schools, and then decide. Since this involves a parallelism Faulkner would have been proud of,(the apps for US schools and European schools go out at the same time, followed by the resumes for both US and European jobs) and the need to bilocate (remember, I have to be in the library working on my senior thesis while simultaneously doing all these applications) I’m not sure how this is going to go.

I asked for information on student loans. “Ask so-and-so in the Finance Department,” she said. “I have no idea if the FAFSA can help you get loans to study in Europe.”

“Scholarships?” I said hopefully. Surely she had some information on Fulbright, or something.Ā  Not to mention the fact that the fifth parallel path had emerged at that moment (Is this a Buddhist process?) since the scholarships have to be sent out along with the US grad school apps and the European apps and the resumes for US jobs and the resumes for European jobs (apparently not. In Buddhism you choose one of these.) “You would have to check the websites of those specific organizations,” she said.

I asked for information on jobs for Americans abroad. “Check the US government jobs website,” she said. “You might find something.”

I asked for information on internships. She didn’t even have a website to give me for that one.

Isn’t she supposed to know things like this?

1 Comment

Filed under US/Belgium 2011-2012

One response to “Career Planning Day

  1. hey there lassie šŸ˜›
    i think i can help you with that. depending on the school in europe, you should be able to get some money from the fafsa. you’ll get more if you’re a graduate student. ask me if you have any more questions and i’ll see what i can answer šŸ™‚

    and…
    i really think that rep should have been more helpful. just sayin. šŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

